Bookmark and Share Business News in the South from The Randle Report

 

Sign up for Randle Report Daily Emails for all The South's Business and Political News Follow Randle Report on Facebook for Business News in the South Follow Randle Report on Twitter for all The South's Business and Political News

 

 
0
Likes

There's money in poverty in Alabama. Just not for the poor
You know the score. Alabama is number six in the nation when it comes to being poor. Poor but proud. Some 19 percent of our Bama brothers and sisters – or grandmas and granddads, as the case may be – live in poverty. Which means they get by on about 230 bucks a week. Or less. That's one in five, and climbing. That's up from 16.6 percent in '09, up from 15 percent in '03, up from 14 percent in '96. We're up, up, up when it comes to being down, down, down. It's not that we do nothing as a state to attack poverty. Oh no. If we did nothing, poor folks would still have a boot-strapping chance. But we do less than nothing. We do the opposite of something. We pass and perpetuate government policies that ensure – that flat out guarantee – many will remain where they are. In the 19 percent. And if you think it doesn't cost us all in the end, you haven't really thought. AL.com
Submitted 3 days ago

2
Likes

Greed Is Good: A 300-Year History of a Dangerous Idea
Among MBA students, few words provoke greater consternation than “greed.” Wonder aloud in a classroom whether some practice might fairly be described as greedy, and students don’t know whether to stick up for the Invisible Hand or seek absolution. Most, by turns, do a little of both. Such reactions shouldn’t be surprising. Greed has always been the hobgoblin of capitalism, the mischief it makes a canker on the faith of capitalists. These students' troubled consciences are not the result of doubts about the efficacy of free markets, but of the centuries of moral reform that was required to make those markets as free as they are. The Atlantic
Submitted 6 days ago

0
Likes

How To Liberate America From The Poverty Trap That Is Enslaving Us
In the latest Bureau of Labor Statistics jobs report, for March, the Obama economy finally reached a long overdue milestone. More than six years after the latest recession began, in December, 2007, the economy has finally at long last recovered all of the jobs lost during the recession. Forbes
Submitted 6 days ago

13
Likes

Paul Krugman slams Wall Street for “undermining our economy and our society”
In his latest column for the New York Times, best-selling author and award-winning economist Paul Krugman argues that the financial sector of the American economy is not only outsized but that it’s hurting the economy and making Americans’ lives worse. Citing journalist Michael Lewis’ new book on high-frequency trading — which opens with a story about an expensive tunnel being drilled for fiber-optic cable to cut down the communication time between Chicago’s futures markets and the stock market in NYC by three milliseconds — Krugman argues that American public policy has become overly influenced by high finance, with inequality and economic instability as a result. “[American] society,” Krugman writes, “is devoting an ever-growing share of its resources to financial wheeling and dealing, while getting little or nothing in return.” Salon
Submitted 6 days ago

0
Likes

Why American Innovation Is Not Home Grown
There's probably no other country as innovative as the United States. At least that's the trope. But recent statistics from the U.S. Patent Office and new independent surveys suggest much of America's innovation is not home-grown: Many of the country's best and brightest ideas come from non-citizens. The Fiscal Times
Submitted 9 days ago

0
Likes

The Kind of Innovation That Can Move a Community Forward
It's not about new technology, policy or specific reforms. It's about how all of the players take ownership of a common concern. Governing
Submitted 10 days ago

0
Likes

Why voting rights is the Democrats’ most important project in 2014
Although the Civil Rights Act of 1964 is the main muse of the Civil Rights Summit taking place at the LBJ Presidential Library this week, legislation passed the following year, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, has brought forth many words from the Obama administration this week, many of which can be linked neatly to the 2014 midterms and where the Democratic Party sees itself in the future. Washington Post
Submitted 10 days ago

20
Likes

Why the UAW appeal at VW is a slippery slope
The UAW better be careful what it wishes for. If the union convinces President Barack Obama’s National Labor Relations Board that it’s an unfair labor practice for political leaders to be publicly involved in an organizing effort, then organized labor risks diluting the power of its best weapon: public pressure. autonews.com
Submitted 10 days ago

-11
Likes

Is America Becoming Mississippi
Does a dramatic change in your social environment make you more conservative, and if so, what kind of change would it take? Working at Northwestern University, psychologists Maureen Craig and Jennifer Richeson apply that question to demographic change, and, in particular, to white Americans vis-a-vis the prospect of a United States where the majority of Americans are drawn from today’s minorities. Does a threat to one’s status as the demographic “in-group” increase political conservatism? The answer, in short, is yes. Slate
Submitted 10 days ago

0
Likes

Is America in Decline? Not So Fast
As the country is witness to an ongoing roller coaster in Washington, powered by a leadership too often passing off the tough decisions, we sense a growing crisis in our political system. It is no wonder that both the Congress and the president have some of the lowest approval ratings in decades. In particular, we have seen President Obama’s poll ratings experience one of the sharpest drops of any modern presidency, with an approval rating now hovering around 40 percent; according to the Associated Press, 59 percent disapprove of Obama, a political version of Gwyneth Paltrow’s “conscious uncoupling.” Who could be surprised, given the concern in the country that we have lost the capacity to compromise and are unable to solve the problems of the nation, and, as a result, that we may lose our leadership role in the world? US News & World Report
Submitted 10 days ago

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 593
 

 

Most Liked Stories (past 24 hrs.)


Most Disliked Stories (past 24 hrs.)


Features & Opinion

 Top Ten Places in the South for Relocating California Companies

Reshoring manufacturing capacity from primarily Asia to the South and Mexico is now a common thing to do and it's all about money. When China joined the World Trade Organization in 2001, the average manufacturing wage in China's Pearl River Delta (PRD) was about 58 cents an hour.

 Randle Report - Business News in the South

 FEATURE  
By Dr. Glen Fenter
Desperation sometimes masks itself in acceptance. Such was the case for Takelia Carter of Marion, Ark. For Carter, the mother of six school-age children in a low paying job, desperation was normative existence. This was her life in Crittenden County, Ark., deep in the Delta where unfortunately one in four families lives well below the poverty level.
 

 Business News in the South - Randle Report

FEATURE     
By Mike Randle
There are numerous factors driving the new industrial revolution in the South. And it is a revolution, as this manufacturing surge that began in 2007 continues to break records year after year in the total number of large, capital intensive projects. One factor, of course, is that reshoring of facilities back to the U.S. continues to grow each year.
 
 Nashville Mayour Karl Dean

We try to change up the categories in our annual Ten Top 10s section, but we always include the "Ten People Who Made a Difference" category. This year though, we are honoring 12 and you will learn why by reading about this group of folks who have made a difference in the South. Here is our annual list that includes executives, economic developers and politicians who have made a difference in the South's economy.


 


 

 

Metro Little Rock
Southern Business & Development Southern Auto Corridor Small Town South Randle Report

Copyright ©2014 Randle Report
All of the South's Business News, Political News, and Economic Development News in One Place
Login